2354 // Blogger Recognition Award

There isn’t actually a banner for this (that I’m aware of) but I decided to go ahead and make a simple one which everyone’s welcome to use!

Super honoured to have been nominated by Madi from Madi and the World for this! I really enjoy her blog because it’s very well put-together with amazing pictures and lighthearted writing. Her posts are super easy to read. Would definitely reccomend if you’re someone who’s interested in beauty and lifestyle blogs.

Here are the rules:

1. You must thank the blogger who nominated you, and provide a link to their blog.

2. Write a post to show your award.

3. Give a brief story about how you started your blog.

4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.

5. Select 15 other bloggers you want to give the award to.

6. Comment on each of the blogs to let them know that they have been nominated, and provide a link.

So I guess I’ll talk briefly about how I started this blog.

Nothing too exciting, really. It all began on a very rainy night right before school started. I was really bored, and decided that I would just start writing and see what became of it. So here I am, some weeks later, still trying to figure things out.

I don’t know exactly how I can help new bloggers, since I’m a new blogger myself, but I’ll try!

1) Don’t be afraid to write.

So many writers are afraid of being “too negative” or “too excited” or “too _____” on their blogs, that they end up toning it down and writing with the mindset that they don’t want to make others worry/let their readers know that they’re feeling down. Also, some may be wary of sharing their own views lest they be mocked by others for their beliefs. Just remember this: your blog is your blog, not your readers’, your “fans”, your family’s, or even your dog’s. This is a space for you to share your thoughts. A blog is, above all, a personal thing. You don’t have to write for your audience. I mean, you can, but don’t feel constrained by this to the point where you limit your self-expression. Be as passionate, as sad, as happy, or as excited as you want to be.

2) There is no “template”.

The second piece of advice I guess I’d give is: don’t try and follow a “template” when you’re writing your blogposts. Sure, it’s great to have a structure as a guide, but when people don’t dare to step away from this structure, I feel like that results in a lot of “cookie-cutter” posts that have lost the crucial thing that makes a blog post meaningful: the writer’s identity. You don’t need to post every day. Neither should you feel bad if you want to post twice, thrice, four times a day. Not all your posts need to be about a certain theme. Not all your posts need to have an aesthetic header image, chirpy greeting and loads of pictures. Not all your posts need to be five paragraphs long. Not all your posts need to end off with you signing your name with a “xx” behind. Now, note that there’s absolutely nothing wrong with doing all these things (I love it when posts are loaded with pictures, and I have a banner in this post myself). If that’s how you want to write, go ahead. But never force your writing to fit into a “mold” because you have no confidence that you can write a brilliant, original blog post- because you can. Find your voice as a blogger.

So that’s it, I suppose! Thank you Madi once again for nomimating me (linked her above) and thank you all for reading this far.

Now, the nominees! I’m sorry that there are less than fifteen, I’m still in the slow process of finding new blogs and people to follow. In fact, when I was first nominated, I followed in total less than fifteen blogs which is why I chose to wait for a while before posting the award. Some of the blogs here I’ve been following since I started blogging not-too-long ago, and some others I’ve only followed for a few days, but I’ve probably binge-read your posts so it’s all good.

  1. Hideaway Girl
  2. Chit of Acerbic Wit
  3. Alicia Parry Blog
  4. Mimmy Beauty
  5. The Monster Under My Bed
  6. P.S. It’s Peri
  7. Rose Tinted Pics
  8. Teenagers UNITE!
  9. Waves of Awesomeness
  10. Stellaxhsts

So yeah! Those are the nominees! Thank you once again to Madi for the nomination.

16 thoughts on “2354 // Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Madi January 21, 2017 / 10:52 am

    Hooray!! Great post 😁

    Like

    • Kai January 21, 2017 / 10:56 am

      Thank you! ^_^

      Like

      • smilingdreamer January 21, 2017 / 11:11 am

        It’s My Pleasure! 😊 (check out my blog – if you don’t mind)

        Like

      • Kai January 21, 2017 / 11:18 am

        hehe actually I’m already following you!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Jemima January 21, 2017 / 11:16 am

    Thank you so much for the nomination, I really appreciate it.
    And that’s brilliant advice. Especially about not being afraid to write whatever you want.
    Great post!

    Like

  3. wavesofawesomeness January 21, 2017 / 11:31 am

    Thanks so much for the nomination and I also agree with Jemima that it is great advice. Awesome 😊

    Like

  4. beautyholics101 January 21, 2017 / 4:43 pm

    You gave great advice! I actually thought you’d been blogging for like three or four months! If you ever have any questions or anything about blogging feel free to ask, Ive been blogging for a while and would love to help you out!

    Like

    • Kai January 21, 2017 / 10:50 pm

      aww thank you so much, haha I think it’s because I’ve been addicted to reading blogs for really long before this! So I had an opportunity to observe how things worked and stuff 😁 if I need any advice, I’ll definitely think of you!

      Like

  5. Elm January 21, 2017 / 7:14 pm

    Hey, this was an awesome post!! 🙂

    Like

    • Kai January 21, 2017 / 10:54 pm

      Thank you! Means a lot coming from you 💞

      Liked by 1 person

      • Elm January 24, 2017 / 11:14 pm

        ❤❤

        Like

Leave a Reply

